GREEN SMOOTHIE: STRAWBERRY BASIL BUDDY

What a beautiful day!! Sunshine in the sky. Almost foreign, this blazing ball up above. I am always suprised how sunshine can make even the least ambitious ardent.  I took the dog for a walk, did a couple snowboard runs on the mountain, AND got my bedroom ready for the painter.  The only thing that could have made it better would have been a peruse through the farmers market. Ah, nothing better on a sunny day than going to the farmers market-the smell of fresh basil, big beautiful tomatoes, kettle corn mmmmmmmm.  Unfortunately, in Whistler , we are still quite a ways away in from cruiser bike and basket toting season. But  rather than weep over this very sad fact, I did the next best thing- brought a little Farmer’s Market love to my green smoothie.

STRAWBERRY BASIL BUDDY

2-2 1/2  cups of fresh (strawberries preferably frozen.)

1 1/2 cup  Spinach and Collard Greens (virtually any leafy green will do)

1 avocado (I only added this to make it creamy, next time I think I will leave it out)

2 tbsp agave/honey/maples syrup (sweeten to taste)

1 Cup Water

6-7 Large leafs of Basil

1/2 Lemon juice

I  just tossed all the following ingredients in my blender and went for it. If you are not a big fan of basil I would suggest adding all of these ingredients to the blender first and then slowly adding basil to reach a flavor that satisfies YOUR taste-buds. I did add avocado to this one as I thought it would be better creamy, but next time I will try it without or perhaps you can try it, and tell me how it goes!

One thought on “GREEN SMOOTHIE: STRAWBERRY BASIL BUDDY

  1. Pingback: GREEN SMOOTHIES |

Leave a Reply

