SUPER SNACKS:DILL PICKLE KALE CHIPS

I have gotten myself into a pickle. A deliciously delightful dill pickle. This could be my life’s greatest work. Created purely out of necessity, yet something that will be enjoyed for years to come. This recipe is for those people who absolutely adore the face contorting tongue thrashing spine shivering taste of Dill Pickle chips.

DILL PICKLE KALE CHIPS

*When I make this recipe I usually double it (everything but the kale), that way I have my chips REALLY coated and if there is some left over (there will be) I have a cashew dip to use for veggies and such. It is delish!!

1 Bunch of Kale (8-14 leaves)

1/2 Cup Apple Cider vinegar

1/2 Cup Dill Pickle Brine (pickle juice! If you do not have this just replace with Apple Cider Vinegar)

1 Cup Raw Cashews

1 Bunch of Fresh Dill (I buy this packaged at the local grocer and I put stems and all in the food processor)

2 pinches of Sea Salt

Gather your ingredients

Take your kale wash it, and pat it dry with a towel. Remove leaves from the stem and tear into bite size pieces. I use scissors. Cut them to desired size. I generally do prefer larger “chip” size. Too small they will burn quickly if done in the oven. Too large they are hard to eat with one hand (believe me, I am a seasoned one-handed chow-downer). Place Kale in a large bowl.

Place all marinade ingredients in a blender or food processor and process until smooth. Add water If needed just in order to blend. You don’t want this too runny.

Pour your mixture into your bowl of Kale. With your hands, mix together ,massaging the marinade onto your kale. Please be advised that just taking the Kale and dipping it in the marinade can be done also, but it will take a bit longer. After making these I came to realize that the more marinade the better. So I  pour half the marinade in the bowl to coat them, than I will dip them individually so that it is quite thick. I like to double the marinade recipe, to ensure I have enough. Also if I have some left over I will keep it in the fridge as a dip for veggies….. MMMmmmm

If you are putting these in the oven put your oven at its lowest temperature, and allow to bake 10-15 minutes. Keep a close eye on them. I find it is best to leave the oven door slightly ajar so as to prevent them from burning.

If using a dehydrator,  turn the temperature to 115°F. Dehydrate to your desired crispness 2-8 hours

ENJOY!

16 thoughts on “SUPER SNACKS:DILL PICKLE KALE CHIPS

  1. I don’t often eat chips, but when I do I always go for dill pickle. Now I can indulge in them in a healthier way! Thanks for posting 🙂

  2. i tried some in oven and some in dehydrator. seems like ones in oven may be a fail. almost like there is too much on them?

    1. I have not actually tried these exact ones in the oven. When I made these I had 14 leaves and did it in the dehydrator. How many leaves did you use? I have made a very similar version in the oven and did not have a problem, though I definitely do not coat them as much because the leaves cook very quickly and the coating does not have enough time to catch up. I find that in the oven you must also make sure that the leaves are completely dried too, or they basically turn to dust. Let me ask J Colombo how she does hers. I will have to make them this week and see how they go. Thanks I will keep you posted, and I will definitely update the blog with the info too!

  3. Pingback: RAW & VEGAN FOOD |

Leave a Reply

