GREEN SMOOTHIE: BANANA MANGO BANGO

It’s not that often  you wake up craving the margarita you drank the night before. Lets be honest… that NEVER happens. Especially during Whistler Ski and Snowboard Festival.

Luckily, for some unknown reason, good judgement was on my side last night. I did precisely what my mother and Liquor Store recyclable bag told me to: “Know your limit, and play within it” (insert cheesy smile and two thumbs up). Truthfully, my limit is usually only 1-2 drinks on a good day. Attributed to my overall lack of social life and inability to converse past 10 pm, I rarely drink. But last night, I was on fire! I was able to consume two drinks, act like a fool, make it home before 12 AND wake up thirsty for more!!

Not quite thirsty for the same sake margarita, but thirsty for a cold frozen tropical fruit drink, just the same.

GREEN SMOOTHIE: BANANA MANGO BANGO – I ALWAYS TRIP UP STAIRS WHEN SOBER…

1 Frozen Banana

1 Cup Frozen Mango

1 Cup ice

1/2 Cup Water

1/2 Lemon

2 Cup Spinach (or Kale or selected greens)

1 tsp Spirulina (optional)

1 Tablespoon Hemp Hearts (optional)

Add Sweetener to taste.

Add water banana and mango, blend adding as much water as you need to prevent your blender from catching fire. As usual I always slice my fruit before I freeze it, to give my blender a break. Than add remaining ingredients and blend.  I find the mango really makes this smoothie creamy. YUM!!

ADVICE: Always measure your spirulina AWAY from the blender, because if more than you were anticipating comes out, you will have a smoothie that looks like this:

6 thoughts on “GREEN SMOOTHIE: BANANA MANGO BANGO

  1. I also rarely drink, but when I do, I am shocked (that’s a lie- I am no longer shocked) by the amount of ridiculousness I create. It seems as though I used to handle it much more classily…

    This smoothie sounds awesome. And the last pic looks pretty great, even if there is an excess of spirulina. 🙂

    1. Haha!! I am not the only one. I am never truly shocked either but always embarrassed. Like, really Tara, you’re 30 now?!! It is time to stop snorting when you laugh and time to be classy. But I have come to realize that class does not just come with age- it must be practiced, and earned (if you will). Seeing as I aspire to be and practice many things, I think I will “practice” class when I am more sedentary.
      Oh, and by the by- I love your blog and I LOVE your photos! What kind of camera do you have? Are you a super photography woman or were you just born with this gift? I aspire to wield my iPhone with even the slightest bit of skill.

  2. It does seem to creep up on you at the age of 30, doesn’t it? I’m 31 and I strive to be mostly classy, but I know that I fall short around 67% of the time.

    You are so sweet! I am so glad you like my blog, and I am equally as happy to have found someone with such a similar sense of humor! I am not a photo-buff… yet. I took photo in highschool, but just a point-and-shoot since then. My husband is super photography guy and he does a large majority of the pics, but I still do some. He uses a Canon Mark5D and I use his old 7D. Outside of my blog, the majority of my pics are still done on my trusty iphone. 🙂

  3. Pingback: GREEN SMOOTHIES |

Leave a Reply

