BLACK BEAN, CHICKPEA, PEANUT BUTTER & CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES

So overall, the weekend was not a total bust. I only smoked myself out once (not because of 4/20), and only had one epic creation failure.

Recipe development, that is hard stuff. There is a lot to be said for people who whip up these unbelievable masterpieces from scratch.   I had been on a roll with my smoothie concoctions until creativity got the best of me. One too many ingredients in an attempt to create the ultimate green smoothie (insert  surprise flavor) and FAIL. When I make something that fails miserably I always feel compelled to eat it because of the often expensive ingredients that are  invested within it. But my most recent failure was actually so  unsavory it initiated a gag reflex…enough said.

THIS RECIPE, however, is victorious. It is delicious,gluten-free, only takes 15 minutes to whip up and 15 minutes to bake. I got the idea from  THIS RECIPE on this blog and altered it. But please do check out Purple Bird Blog because she makes a ton of rad cookies using only stevia, for those of you trying to limit your sugar. They are all GLUTEN-FREE which is a plus plus, and as far as I am concerned eating  these are a part of a balanced diet. That’s why I ate a dozen the day I made them… gurgle

BLACK BEAN, CHICKPEA, PB & CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES

Yields 24-36 (dependent on size)

1 CAN Chickpeas (15oz)

1 CAN Black Beans

1/2 CUP Peanut Butter

3 TBSP Coconut flour (Any GF flour)

1/2 TSP Salt

1/2 CUP Maple Syrup

1 TSP Vanilla Extract

4 TBSP Almond Milk (Any Milk substitute fine)

1 CUP Chocolate Chips

Preheat oven to 400 Degrees. Rinse and drain your beans. Place all ingredients in food processor 1 at a time, except Chocolate chips. I would place in an ingredient blend for 15-60 seconds and continue, scraping the sides occasionally with a spatula. Once all ingredients are blended, put in a large bowl and fold in chocolate chips. Use a spoon to drop batter onto parchment paper placed on a cookie sheet. (Make sure you do not mistake parchment paper for wax paper- black smoke WILL come out of your oven). Bake 15 to 20 minutes.

REMEMBER: There are a lot of beans in this recipe, so gorging on cookie batter will be detrimental to your days activities. BELIEVE ME.

Rinse your beans

Blend

 

Place in Bowl and fold in chocolate chips

Place on PARCHMENT PAPER not WAX… yes I had to pull them out of the oven midway to avoid fire

I did not flatten them with a fork…

And they did not change shape AT ALL once they baked

Place on plate, shamelessly promote your cool new stamp kit, then devour 10 before you are supposed to go for a run

AND THEN… come back early from your run because your stomach hurt


11 thoughts on “BLACK BEAN, CHICKPEA, PEANUT BUTTER & CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES

  1. I’m supposed to be doing other things right now {aka working} but couldn’t help myself when your post popped into my inbox! As a huge fan of PB I will be trying this recipe sooner rather than later {assuming I get my work done}! Thanks again for making me laugh and giving me an excuse to eat cookies! xoxo, Crystal

      1. will be looking forward to it! I’m going to have to sub out the peanut butter for “freenut” butter as my kids are anaphylactic, but I am stokes to give these a go!

  2. Pingback: RAW & VEGAN FOOD |

Leave a Reply

