RAW MINI KEY-LIME PIES

Work is crazy right now with quarterly HST, so I get my thrills in where and when I can. These days it is kitchen stores and cookbooks. My, oh my,  how things have changed. At one time the comparisons would have made me cantankerous, yet these days I am refreshed and inspired. Less skateboard, party at midnight, and hand-stands at the bus station; more heels in the kitchen, paint swatches, and bed at 11.

How about a recap of my weekend? I bring you my wild Sunday evening;  inspired by a new zester, my bright green kitchen and endless perusing of Pinterest.  I ended up on Gone Raw and found this recipe for Raw Key-lime Pie by Yoga Mamma. I altered it significantly due to my lack of ingredients but all inspiration and the foundation was given to me by  Gone Raw .  It has a TON of recipes so you should go check it out.

RAW KEY LIME PIES

Makes 10 mini mason jar Pies

CRUST:

1 1/2 Cup Raw Almonds

1 Cup Dates

1 TBSP Lime Zest

1 TBSP Coconut oil

1 Vanilla Bean (seeds)

Place all the ingredients in a food processor and blend until it they are a fine meal. Press it into your pie plate, or in my case 10 mini mason jars. Be sure and save at least 1/2 Cup to sprinkle over your finished product.

FILLING:

3 Avocados

3/4 Cup Fresh Lime Juice

1/2 Cup Sweetener (maple syrup or agave)

1 TBSP Lime Zest

2 TSP Coconut Oil

1 Vanilla Bean (seeds)

4 TBSP Shredded Coconut

Blend all ingredients in food processor  and blend until smooth and desired taste is reached. (I initially had less lime juice, but my taste tester said more is better- I don’t think I have ever had key-lime pie before). Spoon ingredients over your pie plate or mini mason jars. I had intended on doing 12 mason jars but I did not make enough topping. My avocados were small, so that may have been the problem. You could very easily add an additional avocado and then adjust your ingredients so that you get the right flavor. I was working with limited ingredients, so I was not able to do this.

Blend crust ingredients

Place in mason jars

Press down crust ingredients. Not too firm as you want to be able to scoop it out with ease after it is chilled.

Gather your topping ingredients

Blend together in food processor

Scoop to pie crust

Be sure and place a little on each first when doing more than one pie to ensure you have enough topping

Top with remaining crust ingredients

Put on lids and place in Freezer, if doing a large pie cover with tinfoil or plastic

Allow to chill for at least a couple of hours. I actually made these 2 days in advance and kept them in the freezer.

Serve.

These are perfect for a dinner party because they travel well, are small enough for just a taste and people can take them home if they like.

Would you like one similar, but with a little less sugar so you could eat it for breakfast? Check out one of my new favorite sites Dairy Free Betty who posted an even healthier, key-lime mason jar pie. I think there must have been Key-Lime in the air on the West Coast.

11 thoughts on “RAW MINI KEY-LIME PIES

      1. Amazing, i do massage. I live in Cheakamus. . . I will be going to the Raw Dinner on the 1st, you?

  1. Wonderful idea (and looks mighty tasty too, if I do say so myself!) I adore key lime pie–this raw version looks just as yummy (and far easier to take along in a purse! Bonus!)
    anne

  2. Pingback: RAW & VEGAN FOOD |

Leave a Reply

