LEMON BLUEBERRY QUINOA MUFFINS


Martha Stuart. Domestic diva and crafty convict. I am neither a fan ( plaid tablecloths and flower art creep me out) nor a critic. However, the sheer magnitude of this women’s presence as a household name is bewildering. How is it, just the thought of her can make me feel inadequate?  Martha has it dialed. She raised her children, decorated her house, maintained the garden, baked cupcakes,  hosted dinner parties and organized her pantry, all while obstructing justice and lying to the government. Multi-task much?

I have days where merely getting to work on time is a struggle, I start at 9 a.m. (* embarrassing). I do not fold my fitted sheets, I ball them and throw them into my linen closet. Sometimes I eat popcorn for dinner, leave things in the dryer for days at a time and rarely “find time” to pack a lunch. Now, imagine JP or (somebody else’s) children relied on me?! We would all be screwed (sad but true). I am no Martha Stewart.

Nevertheless, I am striving to become an active force in my life. I do not have my workout done, lunch made, and books all read before 8 a.m., however, one day I could.  I am trying to take ownership of my ways, by utilizing my time, and benefiting from it. So, what better way to start than baking some muffins?!

These are inspired by the one, and only Martha effing Stewart.

LEMON BLUEBERRY QUINOA MUFFINS

Yields 15 muffins

1 1/4 Cup Cooked Quinoa

3/4 Cup Whole Wheat Flour

1/2 Cup Coconut Flour (You do not need this, just do 1 1/4 cup Whole Wheat total for the recipe)

1 1 /2 Tsp Baking Powder

1 Tsp Salt

1/2 Tsp Cinnamon

2 Tbsp Lemon Zest

1/2 Cup Apple Sauce (I always use this instead of oil) If you want to use oil use just 1/4 Cup of your choice

1 egg ( or egg replacer- flax, chia, or Bob’s Red Mill Egg Replacer)

1/2 Cup coconut cream (I refrigerated a can of full fat coconut milk for an hour, then scraped the lid and scooped out enough of the thick cream to equal 1/2 cup) Instead of this I think yogurt or sour cream would work.

3 Tbsp fresh lemon juice

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 1/4 Cup Frozen Blueberries

3/4 Cup Sugar

Preheat oven to 400 and line your muffin tins.

In a medium bowl mix together flour, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon.

Stir in lemon zest

Then Quinoa

Mix

In a large bowl mix sugar and applesauce. Then incorporate coconut cream*, egg or egg replacement, lemon juice,and vanilla. Stir until fully blended.

Add the blueberries into your dry flour mixture and combine

Fold your dry mixture into your wet

The mixture will appear dry, don’t worry.

Scoop your batter into muffin tins

Bake for 20 minutes (keep an eye on them from 15 minutes and on) Once they are a tad golden on top, remove from the oven. Put a toothpick in a single muffin to ensure it is done.

ENJOY.

These muffins are incredibly moist, and are almost remnant of a cupcake. They only lasted about 4 days in our house. I allude to the fact that other people ate them, but they didn’t. I gave away 4 and somehow managed to eat the other 11… uh oh.

8 thoughts on “LEMON BLUEBERRY QUINOA MUFFINS

  1. Pingback: RAW & VEGAN FOOD |

Leave a Reply

