SWEET BEET CARAMEL POPCORN

Wiki says that in Psychology Procrastination refers to the act of replacing high-priority actions with tasks of lower priority, or doing something from which one derives enjoyment, and thus putting off important tasks to a later time.

In Tarachology Procrastination refers to the act of delaying the eating program one’s Naturopath gives them, so as to indulge in that of which one is apparently allergic.

Corn, sugar, sesame, cranberries, oats, and freaking Candida. No wonder I am one bad snack and a frightening career move away from joining  Britney Spears and the Beibs at Proactiv. I am eating a lot of this stuff daily! You know, it really takes the glory out of an oatmeal chocolate chip cookie when I couple it with stomach cramps and a zit on my nose. It’s not that simple, I know, but these test results are certainly a blessing, and perhaps even an answer to my ever-present discomforts.

A new chapter is emerging and it is time for me to take control. But before I really put my hands on the wheel, let me procrastinate. This procrastination recipe is my mom’s, with a few vegan friendly twists and some beet juice.

Goodbye, SWEET BEET CARAMEL POPCORN

8-10 CUPS Popcorn

1 Cup Packed Organic Brown Sugar

4 TBSP Coconut Oil

2 TBSP Beet Juice

3 TBSP Agave Sweetener

1/4 TSP Salt

1/4 TSP Baking Soda

1/4-1/2 TSP Vanilla Extract ( I free poured)

Rainbow Sprinkles

Pre-heat  your oven to 300.

I started off by juicing half a beet. I did this as my first step, so that I could clean up the mess of my juicer immediately.

Pop 1/2 cup of kernels. This is about 10 CUPS, but still measure them out and place in a glass dish.

Place all the remaining ingredients (except your Baking Soda and Vanilla Extract) in a saucepan. Put it on the burner on low heat. At this time you must get yourself a clear glass cup full of room temperature water and keep it close. Continue to stir the saucepan’s contents until they begin to melt.

Turn up the heat and allow your mixture to bubble and boil.  As soon as bubbling occurs you must take a small sample of this mixture and drop it into your glass of water.  What you are looking for is that it appears to “harden” before it reaches the bottom of the glass. Once this happens, remove from heat and immediately stir in your baking soda and vanilla.

The mixture will bubble up a bit, this is good. You must work quickly. Pour this hot mixture in your glass bowl of popcorn stirring thoroughly to ensure all the popcorn is coated.

Take your coated popcorn and place it on 1 or 2 cookie sheets covered with parchment paper and place it in the oven. Allow it to “bake” for about 8 minutes, remove it from the heat, move the kernels about and then place them back in the oven for an additional 5 minutes. Keep a close eye on your popcorn and if it looks even slightly brown remove it immediately.

Lift the popcorn and parchment paper off the cookie sheets and place them on the counter. Quickly shake your sprinkles over all of the popcorn and then leave it to cool.

Once the popcorn is completely cooled down break apart any clumps and place in an air-tight container. If you are anything like me, just try not to eat an obscene amount while others are watching. I attempted to eat just one bowl, and failed.

I ate both of these containers full of popcorn. (Please be forewarned, just because your whole hand can fit inside one of these jars, does not mean you should jam it in there. It will get stuck and you will need both a partner and soap and water to remove it….*not cool.)

Looking for healthy popcorn? Check out, the healthiest way to eat popcorn.

3 thoughts on “SWEET BEET CARAMEL POPCORN

  1. I am sorry to hear about the candida- My friend has it and I know it can be rough. You are super-creative, though, so I’m sure you will have now problem conquering the candida diet/lifestyle.

    It is so funny that you made this, because I was just talking about those bright pink-popcorn bars you could get at the fair (My husband thought I was nuts), but this looks like the perfect (and much healthier) replacement!

  2. Pingback: RAW & VEGAN FOOD |

Leave a Reply

