VEGANOMICON: CHEWY CHOCOLATE RASPBERRY COOKIES

I told you I was turning raspberries into a recreation.

These cookies are too rad not to share. They are from the  Veganomicon cookbook, which is like my bible. I have altered this recipe a million times, and it is always delicious. As you can see by my picture, I improvised with coconut rather than cocoa.  But I leave you with the original recipe to do as you please. Just don’t forget to go check out Isa Chandra Moskowitz at Post Punk Kitchen, as she is the punk that came up this recipe, and virtually all other things cool in veganism. Once you try these cookies, I guarantee you will want to purchase this cookbook.

VEGANOMICON: CHOCOLATE RASPBERRY COOKIES

Makes 2 dozen cookies

Ingredients
1/2 cup raspberry preserves
1 cup sugar
1/3 cup canola oil
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon almond extract (I highly recommend omitting this or using chocolate extract in it’s place)
1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons sifted unsweetened cocoa
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt

Procedure
Preheat oven to 350. Line a cookie sheet with parchment. In a large mixing bowl, combine the raspberry preserves, sugar, canola oil, vanilla, and almond extract. In a separate bowl, sift together the cocoa, flour, soda and salt. Now add the dry to the wet in three separate batches. When you get to the last batch you might need to use your hands to work it into a soft and pliable dough. Roll dough into walnut size balls, flatten slightly — they should be 2 1/2 inches in diameter — and place 1/2 inch apart (they do not spread) on cookie sheet. Bake for 10 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool for 5 minutes and then transfer to cooling rack to cool completely.

5 thoughts on “VEGANOMICON: CHEWY CHOCOLATE RASPBERRY COOKIES

  1. I’ve eyed that recipe in Veganomicon but never made it (that book is so big and full of high quality recipes, I sometimes get overwhelmed). These look wonderful and are totally making me think I need to spend more time making recipes from that book and not just reading it like a novel.

    I love the new look, by the way! It’s the same theme as mine- great minds think alike! 🙂

Leave a Reply

