VEGAN VANILLA MINT CHOCOLATE CHIP ICE CREAM

The only constant is change

– Heraclitus

Continuing change, inevitable change, this is the dominant factor in society today. No sensible decision can be made any longer without taking into account not only the world as it is, but the world as it will be (once Tara has an ice cream maker)

-Isaac Asimov (Tara Drury)

Had I looked at these words practically rather than philosophically, perhaps I would not be living with this perpetual brain-freeze. If I really, truly, and sensibly considered the changes an ice cream machine would bring about in my life, I may have abstained.

Is it a horrible kitchen tool? Heck no!

Do I still jump up and down with joy as I watch the ice cream churn? Of course!!

Has it taken the place of salads and vegetables in my life? Ah ohhhhhh…

I have had my ice cream maker for approximately 17 days now. I have eaten ice cream 11 out of 17 days. *stomach gurgle* Allow me to highlight the fact that these 11 days have been 9 separate batches of ice cream. Everyday, I am dreaming up new flavors. I have even taken to pouring my green smoothies into this devilish machine.

It shines upon my counter, it lifts me up when I am feeling down. It begs me not to go jogging but instead to make ice cream. I have listened, a lot!! I even took a break from blogging so as to “bond” with my ice cream maker. So please, allow me to introduce our very first of many…

The basis for this recipe came from this site. I love this site, so please go check it out.

VANILLA MINT CHOCOLATE CHIP ICE CREAM

3 Cans  Coconut Milk (Full fat makes it much creamier, but light works well also)

3/4 Cup Agave

1 1/2 TSP Spirulina (this is just for color 2 Cups of Spinach will work too!)

3  TSP Vanilla Powder (I think extract would work, but I have not tried it)

2 TSP Peppermint Extract

1/2 TSP Salt

1/2 CUP Cocoa Nibs (or your desired chocolate)

Without an Ice Cream Maker: Place all ingredients in blender. Once it is thoroughly blended pour the mixture into a large glass container and place it in the freezer. After 2-3 hours in the freezer remove your mixture and stir. If you’re like me, at this point you will pour some of this mixture into a glass and drink it as a milkshake. OR you can return it to the freezer until you reach your desired consistency. If you want to leave it in the freezer overnight just break it up and place in the blender with a splash of coconut milk before you serve it.

These pictures were taken minutes apart. Read *perpetual brain freeze*

(Pictured: The Super Simple Vanilla Mint Vegan Milkshake no ice cream maker or time required for this one)

With an Ice Cream Maker: Place all ingredients except cocoa nibs in your food processor/blender and blend. Pour it into your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s directions. 5 minutes before you are to remove your ice cream from the machine add your cocoa nibs.

It is at this time you do your happy dance.

Eat for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

7 thoughts on “VEGAN VANILLA MINT CHOCOLATE CHIP ICE CREAM

      1. I don’t blame you! It would be a bold-faced lie to say that I haven’t ate straight-up cookie-dough for breakfast before. Sometimes, you just gotta follow your heart (or tummy). 🙂

Leave a Reply

