BLACK BEAN BROWNIE CUPS

Bean there, done that. Didn’t buy a t-shirt, but sure did go through a roll of toilet paper…

Baking with beans is nothing new to any of you, I know. But truly embracing and celebrating beans is fairly new to me. I often chastised our beloved beans (black, broad, butter, you name it), for the unsavory effects they had on my body. But the more I learned about beans (hello fiber, hello protein, complex carbs, iron, folate …), the more I wanted to give them another chance. What better way to do that, then with baked goods?! Gorging on brownies for the sake of my colon… yes please!

I got the recipe for these off the Veg Web here. This was the third recipe I tried after two very unsuccessful batches. All recipes that I found with banana were over-powered by their flavor. I found these to be the best of three.

I altered the recipe as follows: I used flax as my eggs/coconut oil instead of vegetable, adding an additional TBSP/ Espresso (a must)/omitted the cayenne/used chocolate chunks rather than chips.

Combine your ingredients

Pour into your mini cupcake pan. Filling each cup to the brim.

Bake at 350 for 30-40 minutes. (Depends on how hot your over is)

IMPORTANT: Initially I chose these mini cupcake pans just to deter me from eating them all in one sitting. Gorging on 24 mini’s seemed far worse than 1 large pan-sized brownie!  I experimented 2 x’s with this recipe but never in a large pan. As you can see they actually puff up while baking, and then deflate which creates the cup.

To insure these cups keep their shape you must allow them to completely cool before removing them from the pan. They should go directly from the pan into the freezer for, at least, an hour. Once chilled, remove them from the freezer and place one scoop of ice cream on each. Serve immediately, or put them back in the freezer in a sealed container. These keep for up to 3 days in the freezer. Possibly longer, but why bother?

Normally a deflated brownie could be considered disastrous, but Vanilla Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream made these miraculous. Any ice cream will make these miraculous.

Ever tried a cookie made from beans?

Check out these Black Bean Chickpea peanut butter and chocolate chip cookies

17 thoughts on “BLACK BEAN BROWNIE CUPS

  1. You are a woman after my own heart. As soon as I saw those adorable little cups, I immediately thought “Ice cream bowls!” I’m sure they were delicious with that ice cream! 🙂

    1. Oh, perhaps I should have mentioned that the whole portion control thing did not really work. I actually turned some of them into brownie ice cream sandwiches… so good. But I ate, soooooo many.

  2. Pingback: RAW & VEGAN FOOD |

Leave a Reply

