RAW BROWNIE BLISS

I have said it before, and I will say it again. I-am-obsessive-with-the-things-that-I-love! My poor dog and lover man! I am like Elmyra Duff  from the Looney Toons; ” I want to love you and hold you… and eat you!”

This week’s food obsession (a.k.a dedicated eating project), has been especially delicious. It started off with the Black Bean Brownie Cups, which were a major success, and now I move on to my raw version. Abandoning beans for nuts, these brownies are so easy to make and arguable better.

I got the recipe from Shape Magazine here, but after much experimentation I have altered it substantially so I will give you my version. But please go check out this article and the source of this recipe. If it weren’t for these awesome recipe sources and food bloggers I would still be enlisting the help of Duncan Hines to bake my brownies.

RAW BROWNIE BLISS

2 CUPS Pecans (NOT Walnuts!)

2 CUPS Medjool Dates

3/4 CUP Raw Cacao

1/2 CUP Shredded Coconut

1/2 TSP Salt

Process the pecans in your food processor until they are finely ground.

Next add your cacao, coconut, and salt. Process only until all the ingredients are thoroughly mixed. You do not want to turn your nuts to butter.

Add your dates and process until you have a fine crumble. The mixture should stay together when you press it between your finger tips, be sure to avoid the buttery consistency.

There are several ways to complete these brownies once the mixture is ready, and I have tried all of them.

You can use your fingertips to press them into mini cupcake tins

You can use a scoop and place them onto parchment paper

Or you can use your hands and a heavy book to mold them into a rectangle on your dehydrator paraflex sheet

With the first 2 options place them in the freezer for at least 2 hours, and serve. Keep the remaining brownies in an air-tight container in the freezer.

With the dehydrator, dehydrate at 115 degrees for 1 hour, and follow-up with an additional 3-4 hours at 105. Keep the remaining brownies in an air-tight container.

I find that the frozen brownies are quite greasy, and slightly wet so they must be kept in the freezer, whereas the dehydrated brownies do not have this problem.  All that means for me is that the frozen version does not travel as well as the dehydrated. As far as taste, they are both delicious!

2 thoughts on “RAW BROWNIE BLISS

  1. Pingback: RAW & VEGAN FOOD |

Leave a Reply

