RAW BLUEBERRY CHEESECAKE

I absolutely adore weekends. Or perhaps I should paraphrase that, I absolutely adore lazy weekends. The kind that consist of spending the better part of your a.m’s in bed. Awaking only to hear the rain, as mother nature’s confirmation that you need not rally quite yet. Relishing in the freedom to flip through your book, and doze off as you please. These are the weekends I adore, the one’s meant for repose rather than routine, and this past weekend was just that.

I roused only when Gobey’s (woof ) wet nose touched my face. I ascended over a gargantuan pile of laundry, solely to exit my bedroom. I flipped my vacuum the bird, and proceeded to the kitchen to make myself a cup of tea in preparation for my Gobey walk. The weather was cool and wet. Gobey and I took our time, exploring  the luscious green forest in our very backyard. I took some pictures, he did some poops. All in all it was a beautiful start to the (mid) morning. We may have continued on a little further too, had I packed a snack, but when my stomach grumbles there is only one pressing concern; breakfast.

In what felt like jog, I fast tracked myself home, whilst dreaming of all my breakfast choices..While some people crave toast, or kibble, I was craving….

SATURDAY MORNING, RAW BLUEBERRY CHEESECAKE

CRUST:

1 1/2 Cup Raw Almonds

1 Cup Dates

1 TBSP Lemon Zest

1 TBSP Coconut oil

1 Vanilla Bean (seeds)

1/4 Cup Coconut

Place all ingredients,except coconut, in a food processor and blend until it’s a fine meal. Place 1/2 Cup of this mixture aside to be used on the finished product.

Sprinkle the 1/4 cup of coconut on to a springform pan (to prevent sticking). Then use your fingers to press the remaining mixture firmly into the pan. Place in the freezer.

FILLING:

I used the Rawtarian’s Recipe for White Cheesecake Filling Ingredients

Place all of the filling ingredients in a high-speed blender and blend. Add up to 1/4 cup of water, if necessary, to facilitate blending.

FRUIT TOPPING:

2 1/2 Cup Fresh Blueberries

Once the filling is complete, gently stir 2 Cups of fresh blueberries into the mixture by hand (do not turn on the blender). Be careful to only incorporate the blueberries as whole. You want your filling to remain the same white color. Now remove your crust from the freezer and pour the filling on top.

Once the filling is evenly spread , top with the remaining 1/2 cup of crust mixture.

Next, take the 1/2 cup of remaining blueberries and place them on top. Press each individual berry into the cake so that just its crown is seen.

Once you have done this place your pie back in the freezer for at least, 2 hours or until you reach your desired consistency.

I think that this cheesecake is best made the day before, and kept in the freezer.

If  your cheesecake is frozen, allow it to defrost for 1 hour before taking a bite out of it (see picture above) or serving. ENJOY!!

10 thoughts on “RAW BLUEBERRY CHEESECAKE

  1. The last three photos are gorgeous! I’m totally drooling over this cake, and lord knows I’ve been looking for an excuse to have cheesecake for breakfast…

  2. Pingback: RAW & VEGAN FOOD |

Leave a Reply

